

CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229 e-mail: LTexe@lafco.cccounty.us (925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

MEMBERS

Federal Glover

County Member Michael R. McGill

Dwight Meadows Special District Member **Rob Schroder** City Member Don Tatzin

ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Sharon Burke Public Member Tom Butt City Member

George H. Schmidt Special District Member

> Mary N. Piepho County Member

February 8, 2012 Agenda Item 10

Lou Ann Texeira Executive Officer '

Special District Member **Martin McNair** Public Member

City Member

Gayle B. Uilkema County Member

February 8, 2012 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

CALAFCO Board Vacancy

Dear Members of the Commission:

Contra Costa LAFCO was recently informed that there is a vacancy on the CALAFCO Board.

CALAFCO is composed of four regions: Central, Coastal, Northern and Southern. Contra Costa County is included in the Coastal region. Each region elects four directors (i.e., one city, one county, one public, and one special district member) with a total of 16 Board members.

Cathy Schlottmann was not reappointed to LAFCo by the Santa Barbara County special districts. Her LAFCo term expires March 1st. This creates a vacancy on the CALAFCO Executive Board for the special district seat (Coastal Region). Cathy's seat is up for election this fall at the annual conference.

The CALAFCO Bylaws provide that the Board may appoint a commissioner to complete an unexpired term. Typically, the Board has approached the person who came in second at the previous election; however, Cathy ran unopposed in the 2010 election.

The CALAFCO Board will address some important issues at its May 4th and July 13th meetings, and the Coastal Region may not want to leave the seat vacant until October. The Board is seeking a recommendation from the region of a special district commissioner (or alternate commissioner) who would be willing to serve on the Board. This seat will still be up for election in October 2012 at the annual CALAFCO meeting.

The deadline for submitting names for this seat is March 2, 2012. As proposed, if there is more than one interested individual, the remaining three Board members from the Coastal region - John Leopold (County Member, Santa Cruz), Lou Cunningham (Public Member, Ventura), Juliana Inman (City Member, Napa) - will make the recommendation from amongst the interested commissioners. A recommendation from the Coastal region is needed by April 6th so the individual can make travel plans and be prepared to participate in the May 4th Board meeting in Marysville.

RECOMMENDATION: Advise as to any nomination.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA **EXECUTIVE OFFICER**